The Maintenance Building in Major’s Hill Park
The Maintenance Building is a modest building with a picturesque roof and walls of rough cut, irregularly coursed limestone. It stands in Major’s Hill Park, in site of Parliament Hill and the Ottawa River.
The Maintenance Building was erected as a potting house in 1901. The construction of the potting house accompanied turn-of-the-century renovations to an existing greenhouse, and the construction of a new conservatory, a two-storey summerhouse, and new fountains and walkways. These were built in accordance with plans developed by Public Works to enhance the attractiveness of the park.